Humbling Oneself Before Allah

The more the slave humbles himself before Allaah, the closer he becomes to Him. Thus the Messenger of Allaah (SAW) said:

The closest the slave can be to Allaah is when he is prostrating to Him, so make lots of du’aa then. [Reported by Muslim]

Prostration is the position of humility, quite unlike any other posture or position. When the slave puts his forehead – the highest part of his body – on the ground, he becomes as close as he can be to his Lord.

Ibn al-Qayyim (may Allah mercy on him) spoke in the most eloquent terms expressing humility before Allaah and the contrition of the one who repents to Him:

“Oh how sweet are the words of the one who speaks thus:


‘I ask You by Your power and my humility to show mercy to me. I ask You by Your strength and my weakness, by Your independence of me and my dependence upon You. Here is my lying, sinful forelock in Your hands. You slaves other than me are so many, and I have no refuge or sanctuary from You except with You. I ask You in the manner of the poor and wretched, I pray to You in the manner of one who humbly sumits, I call on You in the manner of one who is fearful and blind, one whose neck is totally bowed to You, whose eyes shed tears for You, whose heart is humbled beofre You.’

When the slave comes whispering words such as these, his iman multiplies exponentially in his heart.”

[Excerpt from Weakness of Iman: It’s Signs of Weakness, Causes, and Cures by Shaykh Muhammad Salih al-Munajjid]

Leave a Reply

